Hit the ground Running

May 1: board plane in Montevideo

May2: Arrive in Seattle, WA

May 3: have lunch with Brother, drive back to Clarkston (other side of the state) with Mom

May 4: prepare paperwork and licencing for job

May 5: staff training starts at noon,

May 7: river staff training on Grand Ronde starts

May 11: staff training ends at 5 pm

May 12: swiftwater rescue course starts

May 14: swiftwater rescue course ends, 5 pm

May 15: Northern River training starts on the Spokane river, 8 am

May 17: Moyie Season starts.

So, as you can see, I haven’t had much time to do much of anything. One would think that keeping myself busy has made my transition better, but it hasn’t. The first week was really a struggle: being suddenly separated from Ben, moving right into the fast paced current of US stress-fed business, and adjusting to changing my role as a traveler to a river guide.

The biggest adjustment has been the culture. It may be more difficult to re-enter the US culture than to enter the Argentine lifestyle. More stress, more hustle, more pressure to go go go, do do do. Not a moment to take a break for a Mate. I found myself wishing I could just relax on the couch and take things in for a moment, but there was no time. We had to make the most of our time with my Brother. We had to leave Seattle by 3 pm. Go go go.

Meanwhile, Ben is relaxing with his family in Seattle. He’s having an easier time adjusting, in fact, he hasn’t really thought twice about the adjustment.

So, I’ve learned my lesson. Next time I travel (and yes, there will be a next time), I will allow myself two weeks to re enter my life in the US. Even if that means cutting into time abroad, my sanity will be worth the sacrafice.

3 comments on “Hit the ground Running

  1. SAWYER says:

    Talk to us sometime about the re-entry to the U.S. after two years in Scotland!

Got something to say?

