Deal Seal

The tickets to Argentina have been officially purchased.

Non-refundable, non-transferable. It’s going to happen. I’m flying to Argentina.

Well, Uraguay actually. As it turns out, tickets to Montevideo, Uraguay are much cheaper than flying into Buenos Aries, Argentina. The distance between the two cities in miles? Under 100 (or so says my finger-measure approximation on Google Maps).

Bonus life points for the trivia question I answered correctly the week after buying tickets: Montevideo is the capitol of WHAT country?

It’s also cheaper to fly out on a Friday that happens to be on the 13th. Figure and go.

And so, on Friday, January 13, 2012 Ben and I will fly out from Seattle to embark on a 114 day journey.

There’s a lot that still needs to happen in the meantime.

I need to invest in more gear. Water purifierLightweight base-layer. My dream sleeping bag. Just to mention a few.

All my money needs to be saved. All of it. Money will also be needed in May after the trip.

WWOOF farms need to be contacted and stays arranged. Destinations need to be planned. I also need to re-certify my WFR. Secure my summer job. Maybe go to the dentist as well. There’s nothing like clean teeth to tell the world I’m American.

And I should work on making Spanish sound less like gibberish.

All life bonus points received from nailing a pub trivia question have been cancelled due to my choice of country. Argentina’s rate of English to Spanish speakers is as low as my Spanish per English vocabulary. The odds are stacked against me.

A whole ‘nother entry will be written about this language battle.

Oh yeah, one more very important thing that needs to happen before January;

I need to tell my parents. 

 

 

This entry was posted in Travel.

2 comments on “Deal Seal

  1. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Hi, I could read your comment on the blog of a colleague of wordpress. I’m from Argentina, writing, shooting photographs, I travel for my country, Uruguay and Brazil. Do not be afraid to travel, you will have good travel experiences here. Everything you need to see, you do not hesitate. It will be a pleasure.
    Visit my blog … you hope. To read my blog you can use google translator bar, as this in Spanish.
    Southern Cross
    Carlos

  2. lrntn says:

    Congratulations! That’s very exciting. I’m envious of your 4 month trip. So cool Left you message in my original post, but in short, BsAs is great, no more dangerous than most major cities. And you’ve got a protector man, so you two should be all set for your adventure. But about telling your parents… good luck with that :)

Got something to say?

